BOOKS BY LINDEN

THE FIRST SISTER

bookcoversmall.jpg

Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid’s Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system.

First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Mars—the same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister’s hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captain—Saito Ren—whom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when you’re falling in love.

Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Lito’s own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart.

A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood.

Praise & Awards

A Goodreads Choice Awards 2020 Nominee.

Barnes & Noble's March scifi book of the month.

Publisher's Weekly bestseller for March.

"Wonderfully imaginative and gripping - Lewis's debut sucks you in from the very first scene and keeps you absorbed in a rollercoaster of high-octane action and devastating twists. Her prose is rich and assured; her characters complex and compelling. I couldn't put it down." 

 

- R.F. Kuang, author of The Poppy War


"Debut of the month . . . A layered, action-filled plot and diverse characters create a powerful entry into the space opera genre."

 

- Library Journal


"Lewis skillfully handles the tale's many moving pieces, maintaining pace, nuance, and clarity throughout. Lewis's lush prose creates an immersive, richly textured world with complex social dynamics and solid LGBTQ and multicultural representation."

 

- Publishers Weekly

ukbookcoversmall.jpg

UK Edition

THE SECOND REBEL

bookcover-web.jpg

Astrid has reclaimed her name and her voice, and now seeks to bring down the Sisterhood from within. Throwing herself into the lioness’ den, Astrid must confront and challenge the Aunts who run the Gean religious institution, but she quickly discovers that the business of politics is far deadlier than she ever expected.

Meanwhile, on an outlaw colony station deep in space, Hiro val Akira seeks to bring a dangerous ally into the rebellion. Whispers of a digital woman fuel Hiro’s search, but they are not the only person looking for this link to the mysterious race of Synthetics.

Lito sol Lucious continues to grow into his role as a lead revolutionary and is tasked with rescuing an Aster operative from deep within an Icarii prison. With danger around every corner, Lito, his partner Ofiera, and the newly freed operative must flee in order to keep dangerous secrets out of enemy hands.

Back on Venus, Lito’s sister Lucinia must carry on after her brother’s disappearance and accusation of treason by Icarii authorities. Despite being under the thumb of Souji val Akira, Lucinia manages to keep her nose clean…that is until an Aster revolutionary shows up with news about her brother’s fate, and an opportunity to join the fight.

This captivating, spellbinding second installment to The First Sister series picks up right where The First Sister left off and is a must-read for science fiction fans everywhere.

Praise & Awards

"With fascinating morally gray characters and sensitive representations of body dysphoria and disability, plus high stakes and themes of rebellion, sacrifice, and the greater good, this is a solid pick for space opera fans."

 

- Publishers Weekly

"In my review of Linden Lewis's The First Sister, I had high hopes for the sequel. The Second Rebel exceeds those hopes and goes straight for the heart — which it proceeds to devastate."

- NPR

"A surprising revelation and closing twist set the stage for the finale to the First Sister trilogy."

- Booklist

ukcover-web.jpg

UK Edition

THE LAST HERO

tlhcover.jpeg

Astrid is finally free of the Sisterhood, yet her name carries on. She’s called the Unchained by those she’s inspired and the Heretic by those who want her voiceless once more. Now Astrid uses knowledge of the Sisterhood’s inner workings against them, aiding the moonborn in raids against abbeys and Cathedrals, all the while exploring the mysteries of her forgotten past.

However, the Sisterhood thrives under the newly appointed Mother Lilian I, who’s engaged in high-stakes politics among the Warlords and the Aunts to rebuild the Sisterhood in her own image. But the evil of the Sisterhood can’t be purged with anything less than fire....

Meanwhile, Hiro val Akira is a rebel without an army, a Dagger without a Rapier. As protests rock the streets of Cytherea, Hiro moves in the shadows, driven by grief and vengeance, as they hunt the man responsible for all their pain: their father....

Transformed by the Genekey virus, Luce navigates the growing schism within the Asters on Ceres. Hurting in her new body, she works to bridge two worlds seemingly intent on mutual destruction. All while mourning her fallen brother, though Lito sol Lucius’s memory may yet live on.

Yet Souji val Akira stands in judgment on them all, plotting the future for all of humanity, and running out of time before war erupts between the Icarii and Geans. But can even the greatest human intellect outwit the Synthetics?

The emotional First Sister trilogy comes to a sensational climax in this final installment, and is a must-read for science fiction fans everywhere.

Advanced Praise

"Lewis brings their First Sister trilogy to a dramatic conclusion in this empowering sci-fi epic (following The Second Rebel). The expansive cast grapples with grief and the desire for revenge as galaxy-shattering conflict becomes increasingly inevitable. Working to change the Sisterhood from within, Astrid and Lily—now Mother Lilian I—are undermined at every turn by enemies at the highest echelons of Gean government. Meanwhile Hiro, mourning their partner’s death, works to prevent their father from unleashing a weapon that could endanger the fragile peace between the Geans, the Icarii, and the distant, powerful Synthetics. And, still suffering the aftereffects of the Genekey virus, Luce and Hemlock work to hold the fragmenting Aster factions together. One of Lewis’s great strengths is their fluent, authentic-feeling representation of multiple marginalized identities; this outing is particularly notable for having three disabled point-of-view characters. Heavy with side plots and political messaging, this book occasionally feels like it’s trying to do too much in a single volume. Still, it provides a satisfying escalation and closes out character arcs well. Anyone looking for diverse, queernorm space opera will want to check out this series."

 

- Publishers Weekly

51fB1Zj10aL.jpeg

UK Edition

Hodder UK | Waterstones | Goldsboro Signed Edition: coming soon